Currencies of African countries

Africa is the second-largest continent in the world and is blessed with an abundance of natural resources. The continent is blessed with oil, diamonds, gold, Cobalt, diamonds, platinum, and uranium. 90% of Chromium and platinum are in Africa.

It is a continent of great opportunity. Its economies are growing rapidly and offer immense potential for businesses and investors.

There are many reasons why Africa is an attractive investment destination. The continent has a young and fast-growing population, rich natural resources, and vast untapped markets. African economies are also becoming increasingly diversified, with growing sectors such as manufacturing, services, and agriculture.

Despite the challenges that Africa faces, its economies are full of promise. Businesses that tap into this potential can reap huge rewards.

Africa is a continent with a rich history and culture. From the ancient pyramids of Egypt to the stunning landscapes of South Africa and the afrobeat of Nigeria, there is much to explore in this fascinating part of the world.

Whether you are moving within Africa or visiting Africa, we have made a list of the currencies of the different countries in Africa to help.

African currencies

Below are the currencies of African countries and their symbols.

CountryCurrencyCurrency Symbol
AlgeriaAlgerian dinarDZD or دج
AngolaAngolan kwanzaKz
BeninCFA francCFA
BotswanaBotswana pulaP
Burkina FasoCFA francCFA
BurundiBurundian francFBu
CameroonCFA francFCFA
Cape VerdeCape Verdean escudo $
Central African RepublicCFA francFCFA
ChadCFA francFCFA
ComorosComorian francFC
Côte d’IvoireCFA francCFA
Democratic Republic of the CongoCongolese francFC
DjiboutiDjiboutian francFdj
EgyptEgyptian poundE£ or ج.م
Equatorial GuineaCFA francFCFA
EritreaEritrean nakfaNfk, نافكا, ናቕፋ
EswatiniLilangeniE, L
EthiopiaEthiopian birrBr, ብር
GabonCFA francFCFA
GhanaGhanaian cedi
GuineaGuinean francFG
Guinea-BissauCFA francCFA
KenyaKenyan shillingKSh
LesothoLesotho lotiL, M
LiberiaLiberian dollar$
LibyaLibyan dinarLD, ل.د
MadagascarMalagasy ariaryAr
MalawiMalawian kwachaMK
MaliCFA francCFA
MauritiusMauritian rupee
MoroccoMoroccan dirhamDH
MozambiqueMozambican meticalMt
NamibiaNamibian dollarN$
NigerCFA francCFA
NigeriaNigerian naira
Republic of the CongoRepublic of the CongoFCFA
RwandaRwandan francFRw
Sao Tome and PrincipeSão Tomé and Príncipe dobraDb
SenegalCFA francCFA
SeychellesSeychellois rupeeRs
Sierra LeoneSierra Leonean leoneLe
SomaliaSomali shillingSh.So.
South AfricaSouth African randR
South SudanSouth Sudanese pound£
SudanSudanese poundLS or ج.س
TanzaniaTanzanian shillingTSh
TogoCFA francCFA
TunisiaTunisian dinarDT or د.ت
UgandaUgandan shillingUSh
ZambiaZambian kwachaK
ZimbabweRTGS Dollar$
Currencies of African countries

Note: Two African currencies are called CFA franc. However, the West African CFA franc has a symbol of CFA while the Central African CFA franc has a symbol of FCFA.

Don't miss a thing. Follow us on Telegram and Follow us on WhatsApp. If you love videos then also Subscribe to our YouTube ChannelWe are on Twitter as MakeMoneyDotNG.

Editorial staff

Editorial staff is a platform that connects people with ideas, opportunities and latest trends in personal finance growth online and offline. It is the most read personal finance platform in Nigeria

Articles: 171

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *